Department of Art History and Art

Navigation + Search

5 Questions with Professor Elina Gertsman Article

Date posted: August 21st, 2018

Professor Elina Gertsman talks about her new book The Middle Ages in 50 Objects, what she loves about Cleveland and more in her interview which was featured in The Daily. Click here to read more!

Prof. Gertsman’s New Book to be Translated into Italian

Date posted: July 29th, 2018

Only just published, The Middle Ages in 50 Objects, which Prof. Gertsman co-authored with Barbara Rosenwein, will be translated into Italian. The translation is slated to appear in 2020! For more on the book, click here.

Professor Maggie Popkin’s research published in the American Journal of Archaeology.

Date posted: July 4th, 2018

Maggie Popkin, the Robson Junior Professor and Associate Professor of Art History, has been at work this past year researching ancient Roman souvenirs and memorabilia, a project supported by a National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowship.

Professor Elina Gertsman’s and Vincent Debiais’ “Abstraction Before the Age of Abstract Art” Wins Grant

Date posted: June 20th, 2018

Professor Elina Gertsman (Department of Art History, Case Western Reserve University) and Vincent Debiais (École des hautes études en sciences sociales) received a $20,000 grant from the French-American Cultural Exchange Foundation for their collaborative project “Abstraction Before the Age of Abstract Art.”

Maggie Popkin Promoted to Associate Professor

Date posted: June 17th, 2018

Congratulations to Maggie Popkin who was promoted to Associate Professor effective July 1!  Her first book,The Architecture of the Roman Triumph: Monuments, Memory, and Identity, was published in 2016  by Cambridge University Press.

Elina Gertsman’s and Barbara Rosenwein’s The Middle Ages in 50 Objects is Published

Date posted: June 17th, 2018

Elina Gertsman’s and Barbara Rosenwein’s The Middle Ages in 50 Objects is published after being hailed as “a splendid visual feast” (Julia Smith, University of Oxford). Don’t miss the authors’ lecture, “Divine, Desirable, Deadly: the Middle Ages through Objects,” which will take place on December 12 at the Cleveland Museum of Art.

Scholarly Journal Elevates Conversation on Caravaggio’s Masterwork at the CMA

Date posted: June 12th, 2018

Just this week, this centuries-old painting graced the June 2018 cover of The Burlington Magazine, a prestigious monthly academic journal that covers the fine and decorative arts.The Burlington article also features the scholarship of Erin E. Benay, PhD, Climo Assistant Professor of Renaissance and Baroque Art at Case Western Reserve University. The full article can be found here.

Spotted at Kalamazoo!

Date posted: May 15th, 2018

Our glorious PhD students at the hallowed International Congress for Medieval Studies — with Prof. Gertsman’s award-winning book and her fabulous Penn State editor, Ellie Goodman. From left to right: Nikki DeLuca, Rachel McNellis (music), Angie Verduci, Gilbert Jones, Aimee Caya.

Prof. Elina Gertsman will be delivering a lecture at Tufts University on April 19!

Date posted: April 7th, 2018

Prof. Elina Gertsman will be delivering a lecture at Tufts University on April 19. Entitled “Fissures in Flesh,” it draws on her most recent book project on medieval emptiness.

Prof. Elina Gertsman named finalist for the the Diekhoff Award for Mentorship this year!

Date posted: March 23rd, 2018

Prof. Elina Gertsman was chosen as a finalist for the 2018 John S. Diekhoff Award for Distinguished Graduate Student Mentoring. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to the education of graduate students at CWRU through advising and mentoring. In 2015, Prof. Gertsman won the Diekhoff Award for Outstanding Graduate Teaching.

Erin Benay and Catherine Scallen Receive Diekhoff Awards

Date posted: May 4th, 2017

Erin Benay, Assistant Professor of Art History and Catherine Scallen, the Andrew W. Mellon Associate Professor in the Humanities and Chair of Art History and Art, have received Diekhoff awards. This is the third year in a row that a member of the art history faculty has received a Diekhoff award; four of the seven tenured or tenure track art historians in the department are now Diekhoff winners. …Read more.

Page last modified: May 4, 2017